Car accidents are shocking and stressful. Dealing with the aftermath of a car accident is overwhelming, so it is extremely useful to use this Car Accident Checklist to be sure you navigate the situation properly.
Whether you've just been in your first car accident or you've been in several, it can be really easy to miss some important steps when navigating the chaos that is the aftermath of a car accident.
This Car Accident Checklist is a guide for Oregon drivers that have just been in an accident.
- Check for injuries: Check yourself and passengers for injuries. If anyone has suffered a significant injury, call 911 immediately.
- Move to a safe location: If your vehicle is drivable, move it to a safe location out of traffic to avoid any additional collisions. If you can’t move your vehicle, complete steps 3-5 from a place that is safe from passing traffic.
- Exchange information: Exchange contact and insurance information with the other driver involved in the accident. Take a picture of the other driver’s license and insurance card. If applicable, gather contact information from any witnesses.
- Call the police: Contact the police and file a report. The police report can be an important piece of documentation for insurance and legal purposes. The Portland Police non-emergency number is (503)823-3333. For emergencies dial 911. If the police do not respond to the scene, be sure to document as much about the collision as possible. Things that may be important later include the exact location of the collision, the date and time of the collision, and approximate speeds of both vehicles at the time of impact.
- Take pictures: Take photos of the scene of the accident, making sure to capture pictures of the surrounding area. Be sure to photograph the damage to both vehicles. These photos may be helpful for insurance claims and legal purposes.
- Get medical attention: Even if you feel fine immediately after the accident, it's important to get checked out by a medical professional to make sure you don't have any underlying injuries. The providers at Premier Care Chiropractic are experts in evaluating injuries from car accidents. And, thanks to mandatory Personal Injury Protection coverage in Oregon, your treatment is completely covered regardless of which driver was at fault.
- Contact your insurance company: Report the accident to your insurance company, making sure to notify them of any injuries to you and any damage to your vehicle. Your insurance company will gather additional information from you and have you fill out some documentation regarding the collison.
- Notify the DMV: In Oregon, you are required to report any accident that resulted in injury or property damage exceeding $2,500 to the DMV within 72 hours. You can do this by submitting an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report to the DMV.
If you have any questions about what to do after a car accident in Oregon, please contact Premier Care Chiropractic, and we will help you through the process.